More countries ban travel from UK due to new COVID strain

A string of countries have banned travel from the UK following news of a new strain of the COVID-19 virus.

European countries including Germany, France, Italy, Ireland, Belgium and the Netherlands have temporarily banned arrivals from the UK, as have a number of non-EU countries, such as Canada, Argentina and Kuwait, among others. Saudi Arabia has banned all international flights for at least a week.

The UK also imposed new lockdown measures this weekend as a result of the new virus strain. The new rules applicable to London and the south east of England means the closure of all non-essential retail, while residents have been told to stay at home.